1st Matara Scout Troop

1st Matara Scout Troop

About Us

Established in 1918, the 1st Scout Troop of the Matara District at St. Thomas’ College holds a prestigious place in the history of scouting in Sri Lanka. Our troop traces its roots back to the beginnings of the global Scout Movement, introduced by Robert Stephenson Smith Baden-Powell in 1907. The first recorded troop in Sri Lanka was formed at Christ Church College, Matale, by F.G. Stevens in 1912, marking a significant milestone in the spread of scouting across the nation.

For over 106 years, the 1st Matara Scout Troop has been a beacon of scouting excellence, instilling the values of leadership, community service, and personal development in young minds. With a current membership of over 180 scouts, we are proud to be the leading scout troop in the Matara district.

Our scouts consistently achieve high honors, with numerous President’s Scout Award and Prime Minister’s Scout Award winners emerging from our ranks each year. 

Join us in celebrating our rich history and the ongoing legacy of the 1st Matara Scout Troop. Discover more about our programs, achievements, and how we continue to shape the future leaders of tomorrow.

1st Matara Scout Troop Logo

Troop Council

Troop Council '24
  • Troop Leader: Amesha Dilushan
  • Assistant Troop Leader: Malika Wijesinghe
  • Secretary: Sahan Elladeniya
Troop Council '23
  • Troop Leader: Senura Methum
  • Assistant Troop Leader: Chamika Dewinda
  • Secretary: Irusha Thathsara
Former Troop Leaders
  • 2022 – Chamod Lakshitha
  • 2021 – Sasith Sankula
  • 2020 – Kosala Archana
  • 2019 – Saviru Dewmika
  • 2018 – Ravindu Nimesh
  • 2017 – Ravindu Nimesh
  • 2016 – Sithira de Silva
  • 2015 – Sachiru Chanuka
  • 2012 – Oshan Manamperi

Latest Updates

Connect With Us